Leaving…But Not Alone

Posted: August 16, 2010 by clairer in God's Faithfulness, Trusting God

This has been an emotional weekend for me.  The week has finally arrived: I’m leaving for college.  All weekend, I’ve been thinking about the “lasts.”  The last time that I have devotions with my family at night.  My last family dinner.  My last Sunday at church.  Of course, they’re not really lasts.  I’ll be home for holidays and some weekends, but a season in my life is ending and, for a time at least, I’m leaving everything I know behind.  Well, almost everything.  The load of things in the trunk of our family’s van can attest to the fact that I’m not leaving everything behind.  But, I am leaving my family, my friends, and my church.

But, as I’ve been thinking about all the things I’m leaving and all the things I’ll miss, there has been one thought that I’ve found extremely comforting:  I’m not leaving God behind.

One of my favorite verses over the past couple weeks has been Deuteronomy 31:8 which says, “The LORD himself goes before you and will be with you; he will never leave you nor forsake you. Do not be afraid; do not be discouraged.”

I’ve come to realize that although I’m leaving my friends and family, my Father and my Best Friend is coming along with me — in fact, as the verse says, He has already gone before me.  He is with me now and He is also there, in my dorm room, ready to give me a grand welcome.  Just because I leave home doesn’t mean He won’t meet me in my devotions, instruct me as I read the Bible, or strengthen me as I pray.  No, He’ll still be there — never changing and ever with me.

Comments
  1. Michael Kreuz says:

    Good post – I needed this…

  2. Cesiah says:

    I will certainly be praying for you as you make this transition, Claire. College is a significant change, and I pray that God works through this experience to draw you closer to Him.

  3. Michael Kreuz says:

    I was just thinking about something I read recently that talks about how God walks us through wilderness experiences so that we can answer the question whether He can take care of us outside a system of predictability. (The answer is obviously yes, we just have to fully understand that)

  4. Katlyn says:

    Thanks, Claire, for trusting God with your future and encouraging us to do the same.
    I’ll miss you while you’re away, but can’t wait to hear the exciting things God has in store for you.

  5. Great post. You are truly a woman of God. I also went off to college after living with just my mom and I in small town in Kansas for 4 years. I moved about 3 hours away to college, while my mom moved even further to be with her husband’s family in South Carolina. To stay close, I made a website called Bible Talk Weekly, where we went over a different bible study every week and left comments about it on the website. Now, it has over 600 comments from over 50 different people from nearly all 50 states! It’s been around about a year and a half..

    ANYWAYS, my point is that you see that God is in control and that take you along way. There are many ways for you to keep in touch with your family…just keep your eyes on God!

Leave a Reply

