A Good God

Posted: September 15, 2009 by clairer in God's Faithfulness, God's Goodness, Trusting God

Imagine this: a god who picks favorites, who delights in being “mysterious,” who one minute might be blessing you and another minute striking you with lightning, a god who holds grudges, or a god who simply doesn’t care about you at all – doesn’t even look your way. What a hopeless and frightening picture that would be!

I’ve been thinking a lot recently about how easy it is for us to take for granted that God is good. Something that distinguishes Christianity from other religions is that our God actually cares about us – He is slow to anger and abounding in steadfast love. I find it so easy to treat the truth that God is good flippantly. I think, “Oh yeah, definitely God is good. I mean He’s God, why wouldn’t He be good?” But really, God is the most powerful being in the universe. If he were not a good God, then not only would we be doomed to hell (because an uncaring or evil god would never send his son to die for us), but life would be a living hell. God could make life miserable for us – it’s within his power – but his gracious love and goodness undergirds His power.

I am so thankful that God isn’t like man. If I had the power that God has, I think I would be tempted to lash out at people who hurt me or zap anyone who offends me. But God is above the petty ways of man. I am continually amazed by his love and goodness and in awe of His kindness in being our Good Shepherd.

Leave a Reply

