Let’s Think: Communication with Parents

Posted: September 9, 2008 by clairer in Parents

When was the last time you talked in-depth with your parents about things going on in your life?  Yesterday?  Last week?  Last month?  Maybe you’ve tried, but they simply don’t want to be a part of your life.  I know there are some parents like that.  But, more often than not, I think we tend to be the ones shutting them out.  I know I did.

Unfortunately, I’ve made a bad habit of being less open than I should be with my parents in certain areas of my life, especially in regards to the internet.  At the beginning, I think I did this more on purpose.  My parents were starting to think I was addicted (which I was).  So, in order to convince them, and myself, that I really wasn’t, I simply stopped talking about it.  Because of this, I ended up not talking to them about certain things that they would have considered “bigger” issues.  And when, later, they would find out about these things, it would often lead to long discussions, hurt, and, in some cases, loss of trust.

While I have tried to improve in this area, I am still all too aware of my shortcomings in my attempts to have good communication with my parents.  Just last night, I was surprised to learn (and she was even more surprised to find out) that my mom didn’t know I had this blog.  My dad did, and I had thought I’d mentioned it to her, but somewhere along the line, I’d failed to communicate effectively to her that I had a blog.  It wasn’t that she didn’t want to be a part of my life, because she did!  I simply hadn’t taken the initiative to get their input on the blog.

I think this is becoming more and more of a pattern in teens today; it’s so easy to do.  We want to live our own private lives, independent of our parent’s advice and influence.  Other times, I think we’re simply too lazy to be bothered with communicating with them, and so, we simply blame it on their seeming “indifference.”  Maybe, though, it’s time to leave those private shadows and start to “walk in the light.”  As it says in Proverbs 19:20, “Listen to advice and accept instruction, that you may gain wisdom in the future.”

Oh, and by the way, I had my mom proofread this post.

Comments
  1. Giovanni says:

    Goodness! Don’t you think we should be our parents mirror image? *rolls eyes*

    Why can’t I make up my own mind, with help from friends of my age?!?

  2. Nicho says:

    I do wish you would continue this blog Claire, I find it quite interesting.

    As to the topic at hand, it is hard to generalize one way or the other. I think it is certainly wise to seek council from your parents. They have been alive longer, and have known you longer. And Gio, no one said anything about being mirror images. you can seek advice from parents just as easily as friends or anyone else. It seems that you are interpreting this as a bit more compulsory than Claire is intending it to sound. She is simply advocating communication. Not coercion, compulsion, control, or anything else.

    But really, I would love if you would continue this

  3. claireanne says:

    Hey Nicho! Thanks so much! I probably will. School’s been crazy the past…month (wow! has it really been that long?), but I hope to keep it up…starting very soon, now that school is manageable again. Helps that some people want me to. 😀

Leave a Reply

