Let’s Talk: The Purpose of Life

Posted: September 9, 2008 by clairer in Purpose

“The purpose of life is a life of purpose.” — Robert Byrne

I saw this quote the other day, and I started wondering, what is the purpose in my life?  What marks a life worthwhile?  When I die, what do I want to be known for?

I think it’s important for us to think about these questions, especially as we begin to make decisions that will influence our future lives.  When we’re living with a purpose in mind, it will help to guide our choices.  As I thought about what my purpose in life is, I also ran across a quote by J.I. Packer:

What makes life worthwhile is having a big enough objective, something which catches our imagination and lays hold of our allegiance…. What higher, more exalted, and more compelling goal can there be than to know God?

This is what my purpose should be: “that [I] may live a life worthy of the Lord and may please him in every way: bearing fruit in every good work, [and] growing in the knowledge of God.” (Colossians 1:10)

How would you define your life purpose?

Comments
  1. Alex says:

    If you are looking for a response, i would say that i must know God, love god, and serve God, in this world so that i may be happy with him in the next. You mentioned that you want to be known for something. I hope I am never remembered for anything of what i did. Because if that’s the case, i wasn’t giving all the glory that i receive in this life to God thus I am not serving him but serving my own interests instead. excuse this if its bad on grammar, i have no gall bladder right now and am a little knocked up on the vicodin.

  2. Alex says:

    yeah i realzed i’m barely a teen right now, i’ll stop responding.

  3. claireanne says:

    it’s ok. Doesn’t matter if you’re not a teen. I appreciate your insights.

  4. Shanna Ruth Allen says:

    I’m not a teen and i reply 😉 alex your insite and response is important for all ages, not just teens. It is important to see and understand, question and to be questioned, in order to grow in understanding and knowledge.

Leave a Reply

